Warrington Dolphins LDSC – Boxing Day Dip 2005

This year's race was once again a great success with 12 committed swimmers assembling at Budworth Sailing Club, keen not to miss the opportunity to keep their fitness over the festive period. Both swimmers and a couple of dozen well wishers met at 10.00am. For the 2005 race there were 3 Boxing Day Novices and the return of experienced racers, who couldn't understand why some of their fellow club members hadn't turned up with their kit.

In front of the clubhouse the swimmers were briefed on the course, water temperature 33F, wind direction, risk of precipitation, the fine coffee and bacon butty waiting for each swimmer after the event at the galley. For the second year in succession Dave Feakes after being appointed as race starter and referee complained bitterly to the President that he couldn't swim.

Over the years since 1973 the event has grown in stature and is now known of nationally and due to this, the Editor of the Swimming Times came to report on the event. All swimmers were given pre-swim interviews. At 10.30 the swimmers assembled at the start for a collective photo and immediately after this there was a quick count down and the swim started.

Mark Blewitt had definitely formulated a plan to win and immediately turned and ran into the water performed an excellent dive and was away. Christian Wade had a quick look at this start and concluded that all was not lost and preceded to follow. Next followed Alan Pomfret, Nick Flash (both novices) and Joe Coy. Joe Coy the race favourite was completely out manoeuvred by the leaders tactics and never recovered. Kevin Saunders swam in his Father Christmas hat was lucky not to be disqualified for breach of BLDSA rules. The referee failed to notice that he had two caps on. Chris Byrne got his act together this year and completed the race on a first attempt. Mick Gallagher and Mike Callaghan both produced steady swims. Although Mick had forgotten that it was only one lap. Helen Tristam again showed the rest of the female members in the club how the swim should be done. At the rear of the race there were two previous winners making a pathetic half-hearted effort only managing to dip their shoulders under the water.

Christian's intensive training over the last couple of months paid off as he over took Mark at the turn and opened a lead which he maintained to win the race.

The most committed swimmer was this year was Nicky Flash who travelled from Blackpool to compete.

- 1. Christian Wade
- 3. Alan Pomfret
- 5. Joe Coy
- 7. Chris Byrne
- 9. Helen Tristam
- 11. Michaela Richard

- 2. Mark Blewitt
- 4. Nick Flash
- 6. Kevin Saunders
- 8. Mike Callaghan
- 10. Mike Gallagher
- 12. Andy Wright